top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Receiving my mission call

When I first decided to go on a mission, rather spontaneously during a fast and testimony meeting, it only took me 7 weeks from deciding to go, and submiting my papers, to the day I held that haunting white envelope in my shaking hands. Because for anyone who knows me, they'll know that when I finally decide to do something, I have to do it straight away, with full heart. To be honest I'm pretty sure the only reason it took even that long was because I couldn't do anything around the 2 weeks of Christmas. (Safe to say I can be a keen bean)

Anyway, the day finally came. I was at work, eagerly awaiting a possible text message from my mum when the post came... the couple of days before I'd received, "Sorry, nothing today :(" but February 5th 2015, I got sent an image of my enclosed letter, and I couldn't even function for the rest of the day.

One minute I had a stupid smile on my face, the next my heart rate would increase as I realised I had no clue what it said on that piece of paper sat waiting for me on the fireplace.

But as I arrived home before even looking at my call, I went to my bedroom, knelt down by my bedside and prayed to my Heavenly Father. I told Him that I knew that He knew exactly where I was supposed to go, that right now He's preparing specific people for me to find and teach. As I finished, a line from one of my favourite Hymns came into my head; "I'll go where you want me to go, Dear Lord". I felt so much more peace after having that short, necessary time with my Heavenly Father.

As I began to open the letter, my family around me, I was seconds away from finding out where I'd spend the next 18 months, and where I would most likely refer to in every other talk and testimony for the rest of my life;

DEAR SISTER SERENA BORTONE,

YOU HAVE BEEN CALLED TO SERVE IN THE CALIFORNIA LOS ANGELES MISSION. YOU HAVE BEEN ASSIGNED TO TEACH THE GOSPEL IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE, AND WILL BE OVER VISITORS CENTRE.

I couldn't actually believe it... It still hasn't hit my now (almost 3 months later) that I'm going to L.A. My Heavenly Father truely knows me more than anyone... even better than I guess I know myself. I already feel His blessings for making the decision to serve a mission- and I've not even entered the field yet!

Well, peace out for now,

Serena

(Soon to be Sister Bortone! YAS)

bottom of page